12th session of CIS Council of Justice Ministers held in Yerevan


Today, the 12th session of the Council of Ministers of Justice of Commonwealth of Independent States was held in Yerevan presided by Minister of Justice of the Republic of Armenia, Davit Harutyunyan, attended by the Ministers of Justice of Armenia, Russia, Belarus, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan.

Minister Harutyunyan, greeting the representatives of the Member States, underlined that the Council of Ministries of Justice is actually one of the important CIS members acting efficiently, within the framework of which a number of issues under the jurisdiction of the Ministries of Justice of Member States are discussed and coordinated.

According to the Minister, the annual meeting provides the Ministries of Justice of the Member States with an opportunity to come up with joint proposals which are aimed at improving the legal grounds for co-operation and the international treaties signed within the CIS framework.

During the meeting a number of issues were discussed concerning the UN General Assembly Resolution 71/10 on the co-operation between the UN and CIS countries, the practice of providing state services by the Ministries of Justice of the CIS member states, bringing into compliance the legislation in the sector of notary activities of the CIS member states, as well as on updating the international treaties and decisions of the CIS supreme bodies.